I Want To Be A Halloween Painting Princess! MNGT137 #2

It has become a running joke for me, I say it a lot! “I just want to be a Halloween painting princess!”  It is a joke… but it is true. This is what I want to do. I want to create Halloween inspired paper mache figures, and paint them! Oh, and have people love them..Oh! And then I want to sell them! (here’s where things get tricky.)

f9956272012c6e54c1e2ffa0b5fe23fc

In my research I found someone who I can completely relate to in this article.  Kate Berube who is a Portland, Oregon based author and illustrator said in the article “But if you are trying to make money off of it, you have to learn about business. That’s not something I was taught in school.”

It is a struggle and adventure to move your art to business. This article offered some great advice in how to do so.

My biggest inspiration for my Halloween paper clay creations has been Johanna Parker. I was already making little Halloween and Christmas figures (not knowing what to do with them) when I came across Johanna’s Designs! I was ecstatic to say the least! Her designs are full of whimsy and magic and I felt a bit validated that someone was successful at what I was trying to do. This meant to me that, one there was market for vintage inspired Halloween items. Second I couldn’t give up.

It’s going to take a whole lot of effort in business mindedness and probably a lot less paint in the beginning.

Leave a Reply

